You are here

News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Mon, 09/12/2022

In anticipation of Judge Douglas D. Dodd's retirement, please be mindful of order submissions.

Any order, in any matter which Judge Dodd has or will rule upon, must be signed before September 30, 2022. Please review your files and submit...

Thu, 09/01/2022

Judge-Select Michael A. Crawford will take the bench October 3, 2022, upon the retirement of Judge Douglas D. Dodd.

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Louisiana will resume in-person hearings for all proceedings effective...

Fri, 07/22/2022

On July 22, 2022, the Court entered Standing Order 2022-3 regarding the adoption of an interim bankruptcy rule due to the Bankruptcy Threshold Adjustment and Technical Corrections Act, which was...

Sun, 05/01/2022

The Administrative Procedures for the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Louisiana are amended and effective May 1, 2022. You will find the amended version of these Administrative Procedures on...

Thu, 04/07/2022

The U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Louisiana will resume in person hearings as follows:

  • Reaffirmation Agreement hearings will be in person starting May 26, 2022.
  • Chapter 7, Chapter 11, and...
Wed, 03/30/2022

Due to the anticipated inclement weather, the Clerk's Office will close at 12 PM on Wednesday, March 30, 2022. The court will resume normal operations on Thursday, March 31 at 8:30 AM.

Tue, 03/22/2022

Due to the anticipated inclement weather, the Clerk's Office will close at 12 PM on Tuesday, March 22, 2022. 

Wed, 01/26/2022

Effective January 26, 2022, the court has entered Standing Order 2022-2 regarding fees of Chapter 13 debtor's counsel.

Wed, 01/12/2022

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit seeks applications from all highly qualified candidates for a 14-year appointment as a United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Middle District of Louisiana at Baton Rouge.
The selection process...

Sat, 01/01/2022

Effective January 1, 2022, the court has entered Standing Order 2022-1 to adopt revised local rules and revoke certain standing orders. 

Pages