You are here

Court Holidays

2016

Date Observed Federal Holiday Notes
Friday, January 1 New Year's Day January 1
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King, Jr's Birthday 3rd Monday in January
Monday, February 15+ Washington's Birthday 3rd Monday in February
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Monday, July 4 Independence Day July 4
Monday, September 5 Labor Day 1st Monday in September
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day 2nd Monday in October
Friday, November 11 Veterans' Day November 11
Thursday, November 24 Thanksgiving Day 4th Thursday in November
Monday, December 26* Christmas Day December 25
Monday, January 2, 2017** New Year's Day (2017) January 1

 

Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103(a)) establishes the following public holidays for Federal employees.  Please note that most Federal employees work on a Monday through Friday schedule.  For these employees, when a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).

+ This holiday is designated as "Washington's Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

* December 25, 2016 (the legal public holiday for Christmas Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, December 26, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)

**January 1, 2017 (the legal public holiday for New Year’s Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, January 2, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)