Court Holidays


Date Observed Federal Holiday Notes
Thursday, January 1 New Year's Day January 1
Monday, January 19 Martin Luther King, Jr's Birthday 3rd Monday in January
Monday, February 16+ Washington's Birthday 3rd Monday in February
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Friday, July 3 Independence Day July 4
Monday, September 7 Labor Day 1st Monday in September
Monday, October 12 Columbus Day 2nd Monday in October
Wednesday, November 11 Veterans' Day November 11
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Day 4th Thursday in November
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day December 25
Friday, January 1, 2016 New Year's Day (2016) January 1


Federal law (5 U.S.C. 6103(a)) establishes the following public holidays for Federal employees.  Please note that most Federal employees work on a Monday through Friday schedule.  For these employees, when a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday usually is observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).

+ This holiday is designated as "Washington's Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.